Symposium A14 – “Quantitative Magnetic Characterization in the TEM”

      Commentaires fermés sur Symposium A14 – “Quantitative Magnetic Characterization in the TEM”

Dear colleagues,

We hereby like to announce a symposium on « Quantitative Magnetic Characterization in the TEM » (A14) during this year’s Microscopy & Microanalysis 2018 Meeting which will be held on August 5-9, 2018, in the beautiful city of Baltimore, MD, USA. The deadline for the submission of abstracts is February 15, 2018.

Symposium A14 – “Quantitative Magnetic Characterization in the TEM”:

In this symposium, transmission electron microscopy techniques for imaging magnetic fields, such as Lorentz microscopy, differential phase-contrast (DPC), electron holography, and electron energy-loss magnetic chiral dichroism (EMCD), are emphasized. As functional magnetic materials continue to decrease in size, surfaces and interfaces play a growing significance on novel nanoscale magnetic phenomena. Further, skyrmions and topological insulators have recently received widespread interest leading to an increasing demand for high resolution quantitative magnetic measurements in combination with local structural characterization. With recent advances in mind, the goal of this symposium is to bring together experimentalists involved in applying/developing magnetic techniques and those involved in simulations and/or the development of theory to explain quantitatively magnetic phenomena with TEM.

For abstract submission and conference details, please visit the Microscopy & Microanalysis 2018 website at: Please, forward this email to any of your colleagues who you think it might be of interest to.

We like to kindly encourage you to contribute to this symposium, and we look forward to seeing many of you in Baltimore, next summer. We hope that we will have a scientifically fruitful and stimulating meeting in a culturally and historically rich environment.

Sincerely Yours,

Darius Pohl, IFW Dresden, Germany (symposium organizer);
Ben McMorran, University of Oregon, USA (symposium co-organizer);
Martha McCartney, Arizona State University, USA (symposium co-organizer);
Sebastian Schneider, IFW Dresden, Germany (symposium co-organizer)

IFW Dresden e.V., Helmholtzstraße 20, D-01069 Dresden
VR Dresden Nr. 1369, Vorstand:
Prof. Dr. Burkard Hillebrands, Dr. Doreen Kirmse